top of page

How JOSÉ MOURINHO Motivates His Players


How José Mourinho Motivates His Players - The Sportbible

1. IS YOUR APPROACH TO MOTIVATION TAILORED TO ANY INDIVIDUAL, OR IS IT THE TEAM?

Teams. But sometimes you need a few details when you know the person really well. There are details that you can try to influence according to the person. But, I'm a team coach.

2. HOW IMPORTANT IS CONFIDENCE FOR A PLAYER?

Almost everything. I don't say everything because to be tactically prepared is very important, to know what to do. To know how to react is very important. But confidence brings players to completely different levels. That's why sometimes you think a player is not really good and then you realize that he's very good.

3. HOW DO YOU BUILD A PLAYERS CONFIDENCE?

To be tactically prepared is very important. No doubts. Everything clear. Position off the ball. Where you have to be in possession. The way you have to react. So to be tactically prepared makes a player much more confident. And then things go well, and they build their confidence and the performances go high but normally people think that confidence is about words, is about a special mental preparation. I think everything starts with feeling comfortable on the pitch.

4. IS THERE EVER A GOOD TIME TO DROP SOMEONE WHEN THEIR CONFIDENCE IS LOW?

I don't see things in this perspective. I just analyze the opponent. I analyze my players, and my player's work and the way they can adapt to the game and try to choose the team that I think will be successful. When I change players, I don't change with that sense of... he´s not playing well, I'm going to drop him. It's not in that perspective.

5. HAS THERE BEEN A MANAGER THAT HAS INFLUENCED YOUR MANAGERIAL STYLE?

The first one was my father, because he was the one that I had on my side since I was a kid and since I was dreaming about becoming a football coach. And then through all the generations so many top managers that I would be very stupid not to learn from them.

6. WHAT DO YOU LOOK FOR IN A YOUNG PLAYER TO DETERMINE WHETHER HE CAN BE COACHED?

The first thing obviously is quality. No quality, no chance. That's the basic thing. But immediately after the quality comes the motivational side of it. And some guys with quality, with potential that people think they have everything to become top players, when the motivation, the desire, the passion is not there everyday, then you realize that they are going to be lost talents. And the world of football is full of lost talents.

7. WHAT ARE THE MOST DIFFICULT SITUATIONS TO MOTIVATE A TEAM?

The season after being champion, or after being successful is normally a very difficult season. Normally It's difficult, because you bring the team to the top, you reach the objectives. And then, I'm not saying collapse because It shouldn't be like that. But It's normal that after success that some players that you brought to the extreme of their potential, It's normal that they don't perform the same way. And the season after success becomes a difficult season.

From: The Sportbible Interview.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search for Tags
Nenhum tag.
Follow
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page